the picture above

The photo of books above these words is actually a picture of Madeleine L’Engles books in the Madeleine L’Engle Library, which is a sort of office and library space she owned on the grounds of St. John the Divines Cathedral in NY. It was in this space (where I visited with my Art History class in December) where she wrote large portions of her books. I’ve always adored Madeleine L’Engle, and was quite sad when she died. It was a very interesting experience to be in the same atmosphere she was in when searching for the perfect word for her novels. I find it mystical in a way. The space had a great, tiny little vibe and a nice view of the grounds. I hope that when I am older and writing more books I have a great little apartment in NY with a fantastic view of the street below for inspiration. 

     Also, another novel of hers has been released posthumously, and I reallyreallyreally want to read it, but it’s only out in $17.99 hardcover, which I can’t afford. 😦

Leave a Reply

