’tis a gift to be simple

I’ve found that just a bit of order can make mundane things like waking up on Thanksgiving and making tea and watching the parade with children and doughnuts a whole lot more enjoyable. I’m finding it hilarious that I am returning to the things I originally shunned when I became a teenager. When I turned thirteen I think I suddenly thought things were going to change. Now I think I care even less about appearances and what people think. I always felt like I should always be growing more aware of my appearance and of what people think of me, but I don’t. I just put up on old pink, flowered canopy for my bed. It’s fabulous. My room is clean and flowered and colorful and there is tons of tea in our cabinets and if my Dad wasn’t such a Scrooge, I think I would be perfectly content this holiday.

I got tons of new books I don’t know where to begin. Here’s a list of what I am reading or about to read:

  • Candor by Pam Bachorz
  • The Mystery of the Crystal Skulls by Morton Thomas
  • Anna Karenina by Tolstoy
  • The Book of Lost Things by John Connelly
  • The Price of Honor by Jan Goodwin
  • The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart
  • Things I’ve Been Silent About by Azar Nafisi
  • Men and Women by Margaret Mead
  • God Among the Shakers by Suzanne Skees

Alas, the list is even longer than I thought. That’s not even counting the books on my shelves that I haven’t yet read. I guess I will have to read a lot this holiday season!

 

It’s officially Christmas time! I have just loaded my ipod with tons of appropriate music. I’m excited! 🙂

Leave a comment